Issues

cover.indd

Issue no.2: suburb

The suburb issue of Failed States includes an original fiction by Wayne Koestenbaum; special projects on the Charles Atlas film Staten Island Sex Cult and the late South African photographer Thabiso Sekgala; a portfolio of posters for queer skate collective Unity selected by Ian Giles; and contributions from writers, artists, photographers and educators from Iceland, North America, Pakistan, South Africa, and the UK, in which…

Ayesha Malik documents an American suburb in Saudi Arabia
Baneen Mirza
walks the Lahore sprawl
Brian W. Ferry locates the suburban in Brooklyn
Bryony Quinn researches a divisive wall in Oxfordshire
Colter Jacobsen doesn’t remember
Daniel P Callanan explores wild places in south-east London
Donal Mosher recalls the dogwood trees of North Carolina
Jack Self goes back to the beginning
Jacques Bellavance photographs Europe-inspired developments around Shanghai
Jenny Lin spends an evening in those same Shanghainese suburbs
Jeremy Atherton Lin follows the searchlights of the Silicon Valley
Josh Cheon digs up his teenage mixtapes
Justinien Tribillon undertakes an etymological adventure
Karen Tongson soundtracks her youth in the Inland Empire
KT Browne finds herself in a remote Icelandic town
Matt Wolf  hangs out in Boca Raton’s retirement communities
Nina Power contemplates the supra-rural
Olivia Laing has a phenomenological moment
Peter Nencini makes public art in Croydon
Sabelo Mlangeni ventures into a wealthy Johannesburg suburb
Tara Sinn moves to a cul-de-sac

Publisher & Editor: Jamie Atherton
Associate Editor: Jeremy Atherton Lin
Art direction: Sandy McInnes
Cover image: Sabelo Mlangeni

The second issue is larger in format, with longer texts, special projects and a greater focus on photographic essays. Order a copy here.

Issue no.1: island

IMG_8995

For the first issue contributors were invited to respond to the theme of island within a suggested maximum word-count of 200. Contributors included…

Anh Do @anhdoanhdo  hakunamatata.house
Beth Bramich @bethsaha
Bryony Quinn @bryonyquiquinn bryonyquinn.com
Cally Spooner callyspooner.com
Calvin Seibert @calvinseibert
Carrie Friese careandscience.com
Doris Ho-Kane @17.21women
Eli Diner hakunamatata.house elidiner.me
Euan Macdonald intrvl.net
Fi Churchman @fi_churchman
Gabriella Beckhurst @gabriellafeijoo
Isabel Taube
Jasleen Kaur @_jasleen.kaur_ jasleen.kaur.co.uk
Jay Simpson @jaysimpson.us jaysimpson.us
Jeremy Atherton Lin @jeremyathertonlin jeremyathertonlin.com
Jesse Hewitt strongbehavior.com
Joseph Curran @ptfilmproduction ptfilm.co.uk
Joyce Dixon
Julie Lindow julielindow.com
Lucy Watson @lucywwatson
Luke O’Sullivan @mrlukeherehappytohelp @LukeNOSullivan
Martin John Callanan @greyisgood greyisgood.eu
Mary Hannity @mryhnty @maryhannity
Mary Manning @maryymanningg unchangingwindow.com
Matt Connors @cattmonnors mattconnors.info
Matt Wolf @mattpwolf mattwolf.info
Monique Mouton @moniqqquem
Niki Ford @nikifordcooks @powerplantworkroom
Nina Schack Kock
Olivia Laing @olivialanguage olivialaing.co.uk
Oscar Gaynor @oscar.gaynor
Paul Clinton @fpclinton
Richard Dodwell @rdodders richdodwell.com
Sam Ashby @iamsamashby littlejoemagazine.com
Sam Williams @s_a_m_w sam-w.com
Thea Smith @deptfordx @salteditorial salteditorial.co.uk

Publisher & Editor: Jamie Atherton
Art Director: Sandy McInnes


SOLD OUT

ISSN 2515-5997